A Well Crafted Retirement

"Retire from work, but not from life." -M.K. Soni

“Thanks a Ton” Card

Leave a comment

This week Clay needed a thank you card for the family of one of the students he tutors.  I like the elephant cut from Everyday Pop Up Cards so that’s what I got out.

Thanks a Ton CardCartridge Used:

  • Everyday Pop Up Cards

Cut Sizes in Inches:

  • Elephant @ 4.0
  • “Thanks a Ton” @ 4.0

Additional Supplies:

  • tape runner
  • craft glue
  • a corner rounding punch

I found a print with old time circus ads and ticket strips in The Great Rock Island Route paper stack by the Paper Studio.  I cut a 5 x 6.5 inch rectangle from the print.  I then cut a 4 x 5 rectangle in red and a 4.5 x 5.5 in gold.  I used the punch to round the corners of the gold paper.  The print had these cute little tickets  that I cut by hand to embellish the left hand edge.  Using some tan and a copper foil paper from my scraps I cut the elephant and attached it to the gold paper.

InsideI scored the gold paper 0.5 inches from the left edge so that it would open outward.  The phrase “Thanks a Ton” went on the inside of the card.  The tickets act as the hinges to open the card.

Author: padenton1948

I am a retired High School Math Teacher living in the suburbs of Chicago. I have a lifelong love of art, music, and crafts. My artistic hobbies include acrylic paintings on birdhouses and household items, (using the “One Stroke” method), such as : jewelry boxes, perfume trays, decorative door signs, wooden lamps, etc. My most recent interest is working with stained glass mosaics.

Leave a Reply

